Resume.

I gave myself one day in bed. One day to cry, eat waffles, and sleep. I did not shower and I wore the same clothes I did the day before. I did absolutely nothing. However, I would not say that I had an unproductive day. I allowed myself to feel. I allowed myself to feel the stress of being temporarily unemployed. I allowed myself to feel the uncertainty of if we were going to be able to pay our bills in the months to come. I felt the weight of the world as I realized that there are so many people in the exact same position as my family.

That’s not what I want to focus on though. I do not want to look at all of the bad and live in my hole of confusion. I acknowledged the stress, I felt the uncertainty, and I cried. Now, it’s time to move forward. It’s time to resume.

With this month off, I have been given the opportunity to find out who I am. I’m allowed to spend the day writing or painting. I can read all the books on my shelf (okay probably not all, there are hundreds). I can start a garden and reconnect with nature. I can document my journey of self discovery. I can even focus on my business. Most importantly though, I can fall in love with myself.

If you find yourself in a position like mine, or even if nothing in your life has changed, I want to challenge you. I challenge you to fall in love with life during this pandemic. I want you to pray. I want you to learn a new skill. I want you paint, write, read, sew, crochet, knit, make paper mache; be messy. I want you to rediscover nature. I want you to fall in love with yourself.

Trust me, you deserve it.

Leave a comment